Appointments Announced for NREL Advisory Group

Thirteen prominent national leaders have accepted invitations to join the National Advisory Council for the U.S. Department of Energy's National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL).

Thirteen prominent national leaders have accepted invitations to join the National Advisory Council for the U.S. Department of Energy's National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL).

The National Advisory Council provides external and independent counsel to NREL Director Dan Arvizu on the Laboratory's strategic direction. The council also monitors broader trends and anticipates changes that may affect NREL's mission. Council members are preeminent individuals in the fields of science, technology, industry, academia and public service.

"I am delighted to have these distinguished experts join us as advisers," said Arvizu. "Their invaluable expertise will play a significant role in helping NREL meet our nation's energy challenges by providing external and independent advice and counsel to me and my executive management team."

The National Advisory Council will meet Jan. 30 - 31 at NREL in Golden, Colo.

NREL is the U.S. Department of Energy's primary national laboratory for renewable energy and energy efficiency research and development. NREL is operated for DOE by Midwest Research Institute and Battelle.

Editors please note: A complete list of National Advisory Council members follows.

Visit NREL online at


National Renewable Energy Laboratory National Advisory Council

Larry Penley

President of Colorado State University (CSU) and Chancellor of the CSU system

George Peterson

Chancellor of the University of Colorado at Boulder

Myles W. Scoggins

President of the Colorado School of Mines

James Sweeney

Professor in the Department of Management Science and Engineering at Stanford University

Jefferson Tester

H. P. Meissner Professor of Chemical Engineering at Massachusetts Institute of Technology

John H. Gibbons

Former Science Advisor to President Clinton

Hank Habicht

Vice Chairman of the Global Environment & Technology Foundation

Jack D. Hidary

Founder of the Jack D. Hidary Foundation

Richard C. Kelly

Chairman of the Board, President and Chief Executive Officer of Xcel Energy

Don Paul

Vice President and Chief Technology Officer of Chevron Corporation

David J. Prend

Managing General Partner of RockPort Capital Partners

Susan Tierney

Managing Principal with The Analysis Group and former DOE Assistant Secretary for Policy and International

Victoria Tschinkel

Former State Director of the Florida Chapter of The Nature Conservancy

For further information contact NREL Public Relations at (303) 275-4090.

Printable Version

Featured Product

Joyce Dayton Corp - Solar Tracking Jacks Solutions

Joyce Dayton Corp - Solar Tracking Jacks Solutions

Joyce/Dayton, North America's premier manufacturer of screw jacks and actuators has been in continuous operation for over 140 years. Joyce has become the trusted name in solar tracking with more than 2 gigawatts of power generation equipment in service world-wide. Consider the benefits: • Reliably position 50 tons (or more) • Long life/Low maintenance design • Motorized to meet customer specifications • Customer specified load/speed/fit • Built to ISO9001:2008 standards • Superior surface protection • Integral Trunnion mount • Easy to install. Joyce delivers more than the finished product. Quality is built into the whole process from expert engineering support during design conception to top-notch customer support after shipment. Contact Joyce for the products and support you need.