E4TheFuture welcomes new board members

Top clean energy experts tapped to guide leading nonprofit

Framingham, Mass., October 30, 2017 - E4TheFuture, a leading nonprofit focused on clean, efficient energy solutions, announces additions to its Board of Directors. Joining in fall 2017 to round out the organization's roster are five exceptional leaders:

• David W. Cash, dean of the John W. McCormack Graduate School of Policy and Global Studies at
UMass Boston
• Julie Fox Gorte, senior vice president for sustainable investing, Pax World Management LLC
• David L. O'Connor, senior vice president for Energy & Clean Technology, ML Strategies LLC
• Mary Stewart, managing director/president, KSV
• Nidhi Thakar, chief of strategy and external affairs for the President of the California Public Utilities

They participated in their first E4TheFuture board meeting on October 24.

"I'm excited to welcome our new board members who each embody a positive spirit," said E4TheFuture President Steve Cowell. "I am confident that together they will offer wise perspectives. We look forward to their expertise and guidance toward advancing our mission."

Cash served the Commonwealth of Massachusetts as commissioner in both the Department of Public Utilities and the Department of Environmental Protection, and as assistant secretary for policy in the Executive Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs. He helped to transform Massachusetts' policy, business and regulatory landscape by developing and implementing innovative clean energy, water and waste management programs, innovative renewable energy and grid modernization efforts, and the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative (RGGI).

Gorte oversees environmental, social and governance-related research on investments as well as Pax's shareholder advocacy and work on public policy advocacy. She was co-chair of the United Nations Environment Programme Finance Initiatives Asset Management Working Group. Earlier, Gorte served as vice president and chief social investment strategist at Calvert Group; senior associate and project director at the Congressional Office of Technology Assessment; vice president for economic and environmental research at The Wilderness Society; program manager for technology programs in the Environmental Protection Agency's policy office, and senior associate at the Northeast-Midwest Institute.

O'Connor served as the Massachusetts commissioner of energy resources from 1995 to 2007, where he developed and managed energy policies and programs. Under his leadership, Massachusetts began its historic transformation of the electricity marketplace, to provide consumers with electricity supplier choice and to expand use of clean energy sources. He implemented inaugural standards for New England renewable energy use and certificate trading, oversaw electric and gas utilities' operation of $150 million annually in energy-efficiency programs, and was a member of the Massachusetts team that negotiated the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative (RGGI).

Stewart served as vice president of customer experience at CLEAResult and as executive vice president of client services at Conservation Services Group (CSG), where she worked from 2002 to 2015. At CSG, Stewart led client services and customer engagement teams, and directed business development activities as well as marketing and communications. Earlier, Stewart held leadership positions at NORESCO, EUA Cogenex, Eastern Utilities Associates and Green Mountain Power.

Thakar served as a senior advisor to the U.S. Department of Energy's Loan Programs Office in the Obama administration and earlier was deputy director of the Public Lands Project at the Center for American Progress, where she specialized in energy and environmental policy. She led the team's policy development and legal analysis, and authored reports on matters ranging from reforms to the federal coal program to inclusivity in the national park system. Thakar also was an associate attorney at Perkins Coie LLP, where she counseled clients on energy and environmental regulations and laws. Earlier, she served as legislative aide to Congresswoman Shelley Berkley (D-NV).

The new E4TheFuture board members join five who remain, bringing their commitment to shaping and securing a better future:

• Debbie Bing
• Mark Farber (board chair)
• Mary Beth Gentleman
• Bradley Steele (board treasurer)
• Lynn Stein

For more detailed biographical information on all 10 board members, visit e4thefuture.org.

About E4TheFuture
E4TheFuture is a nonprofit organization advancing clean, efficient energy solutions for residential customers. Its endowment comes from Conservation Services Group (CSG), whose operating programs were acquired in 2015 by CLEAResult. Advocating for smart policy with an emphasis on residential solutions is central to E4TheFuture's strategy. Visit e4thefuture.org to learn more.

Featured Product

Baja Carports Design-Build Solar Support Systems™

With Baja Carports 35 plus years in the industry installing our Solar Support Systems nationwide and whose founder Bob Hayworth was one of the first to use solar panels as the rooftops on commercial carports ~ is assurance that you will receive Baja expertise in all phases of installation. Our team's diligence makes the design-build process easy for customers. You don't need a set of architecture plans to begin talking to us about your project. Baja's in-house design engineers will work closely with you to meet your project specifications and city's criteria. You'll have our design team's years of experience applied to your plans. Our engineers will deliver a set of stamped plans, which maximize canopy coverage and details the most-effective layout for your business' parking lot.